Prayer… made easy

Recently I had been making a list of everyone in my life that I can think of that I wanted to lift in prayer to the Lord. As I began writing pages, I knew it would be very time consuming to pray for every person every single day. But, the Lord showed me it was truly possible. There is a passage in scripture that says, “Just mention their name.” So that’s why I came up with this idea of putting everyone’s name down. Perhaps your name is on that list? And I’m praying. And shall I tell you what I’m praying? It’s a simple prayer. It’s found in Colossians 4:12 and Philippians 1:3-11: “That you may stand perfect and complete in all the will of God and that your love may abound more and more in the knowledge and all judgement, being filled with rightousness.” That about covers everything. Sometimes we get too involved in telling God what to do, but this way, He has free reign to work in people’s lives.

When Paul taught people to pray, he literally labored over that. He wanted to see people flourish in the love of God, in His will, and know their purpose. And when he asked for prayer in return it was simply, “Remember my bonds” (Colossians 4:18). He didn’t go into any detail on how to pray, just remember him. Well, I think we can do that for each and every person we know. By writing down names, and having a prayer time of lifting all those names to the Lord, you are remembering them. If they are suffering, you are remembering their bonds. If they are rejoicing, you are rejoicing and thanking God.

So today, before putting this segment together, I was praying and ended with “In Jesus name.” Then all of a sudden I began to cry. Because the Lord God gave me a personal insight and deep revelation on the name of Jesus… because behind that name is a person. A person we have the privilege and honor to know. I saw Jesus so clearly today like never before. I was almost shy to be in His presence! It was that real. And if anyone knows me, that takes a lot.

It was like He was a rock star or something that no one could reach–but we can! We can know the God of the Universe and have access to Him at any time with His full attention! That put me in a state of awe today. Seeing Jesus so clearly, being a real person. That alone should make anyone shout. It should cause us to want to talk to Him more. The other day I simply asked, “How are you today Lord? Let’s talk.” And my day took off.

I say all this to remind us that prayer is miraculous that we can talk to the God of the Universe at any time and know that our lives and times are in His hands.

Leave a Reply

